Updates

I am not good at keeping my blog up to date! So what have I been up to? Working on school assignments, personal learning projects, but nothing new for the portfolio, unfortunately. I have been working on learning Flash (required by my current course), basic web development, and Adobe Captivate. I also read a book!

Flash – My current course is requiring me to learn Flash, and I don’t know if I like it. It’s not the worst program I have used, and I like how it makes things interactive. I also was able to use EdgeAnimate for a bit, and I think I like it a lot more. Hopefully, I will have some flash projects by next week. Trying to figure out how to make professional looking material and not just cartoony things has left me a little uninspired.

Web development – I think this is turning into a real interest for me. I like HTML and CSS. I need to get into Javascript. Right now, I have a basic knowledge of the languages, but I want to get good at it. It’s all about finding some time to do it!

Captivate – I have a Lynda subscription, and I need to learn some e-learning authoring tools, so I went through a Captivate course. I know the basics of it now I need to get a lesson of my own done. Coming up with ideas for an e-learning course has been the trouble. I think I have something brewing in my brain. I need to get on it! I don’t have any experience in the field, so I worry about finding a job when I finish school. I hope this portfolio helps (of course I need to add things to in order for it to be useful!)

Reading – I just finished The Accidental Instructional Designer: Learning Design for the Digital Age by Cammy Bean. It is a fantastic book for someone in my position. I learned a lot. The main thing I learned is always to be learning. I also learned it’s important not to spread myself too thin trying to know everything. That’s a little difficult for me, as you can see. I am still trying to find my path in this field. I find it a little disheartening that the author was able to “accidently” get into this field, yet I can’t even get my foot in the door. I hope that changes when I finish my degree.

I hope to have some portfolio items in a few weeks. My goal is to start writing every other week about my progress. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

