Starting from the Beginning

I used to be a middle school teacher for a year and a half. Now I’m not. That’s the easiest way to start this story. Throughout my undergraduate years, I could never think of who or what inspired me to become a teacher.That was probably a sign. So what pushed me into education? I liked learning about learning and reading. I thought I had found my calling.

That was not the case when I had to teach. My only saving grace was my favorite thing to do lesson planning. Then reality set in. I could not plan even 50% of my lessons and have a life. I just wanted to plan lessons and write the material.

The end of the school year was coming up. I had to make a plan. So, I Googled. I did not know what an instructional designer was until I researched it. I believe it’s what I have been looking for in a career. I applied for a few jobs and realized no one seemed to care about my B.A in Education. I needed some skills. Going to graduate school was always a goal of mine. Now I have been in graduate school for Instructional Design and Technology for a year. I have four months left! I have no idea what the future holds, but I hope to document the journey.

Leave a Reply

